SWFObject 2 / Google Search Mystery

I spent about 15 minutes in the Google Code twilight zone this morning. For some reason when hitting the SWFObject 2 Google Code repos (via a Google search) I wasn’t finding anything on the wiki, downloads page or any source in the repository.

An empty wiki page.

swfobject2.png

Downloads MIA.

swfobject2_downloads.png

I tried to hit the SWFFix dev blog to check for additional insights and found that if I tried to get to it via a google search (hitting the top link named ‘SWFFix Dev Blog’) it redirects to a domain parking page.

I hit the top link in the search results with a URL that matches what I want

swffix_redirect.png

I end up redirected someplace else.

swffix_blog.png

If I type the url (http://www.swffix.org) manually I get to the blog without issue. However, there’s no mention of any Google Code issues.

…Something is rotten in the state of Denmark. I did another Google search for SWFObject 2 and this time the search results sent me the actual repository. It turns out my first search results had led me, (for some unknown reason) to a Google Code Project with a nearly identical URL.

The actual Google Code project.

swfobject_for_real-1.png

The incorrect Google Code project.

2008-06-05_1118.png

Easy mistake to make, but what the hell is up with Google giving me craptacular / inconsistent search results and the results resolving to different urls than they should be?

…I’ve got my eye on you Google.



4 Responses to “ “SWFObject 2 / Google Search Mystery”

  1. Hello,

    I was wondering which tool you use to make the highlights in your pics?

    A+

  2. Brooks says:

    @Valentin – I use Jing which is a free tool from TechSmith (my current employer). If you’re running OS X or Windows I encourage you to check it out.

    http://www.jingproject.com/

  3. Flug says:

    Oh, that jing-thing is great…thanks for the hint. On topic: regarding to their own policies google should lose some PR-points for this redirecting-thing, that indeed is really anoying.

  4. kreditmove says:

    Hmmm very misterious…

Leave a Reply